News Archive

Fifteen Assembly members selected this weekend – twenty-three to go


Fifteen more members of the Assembly were selected at meetings in Kingston, Kitchener, Owen Sound and Peterborough this weekend.

“I feel passionate about my country, my province and my community. I feel like I can contribute to this process,” said Ron Vankoughnett, representing the riding of Kitchener-Waterloo, who was randomly selected by Elections Ontario to join the historic Citizens’ Assembly on Electoral Reform.

In total fifteen Assembly members were selected this weekend including: Elsayed Abdelaal (Guelph-Wellington), Jerrold Labrecque (Cambridge), Bill Ritz (Waterloo-Wellington), Marcia Soeda (Kitchener Centre), Ron Vankoughnett (Kitchener-Waterloo), Fran Byers (Leeds-Grenville), Dianne Carey (Hastings-Frontenac-Lennox and Addington), Buddhadeb Chakrabarty (Kingston and Islands), Cornelio Reyes Jr. (Prince Edward-Hastings), Wendy Lawrence (Northumberland), Marie McLaren (Haliburton-Victoria-Brock), Ann Thomas (Peterborough), Arita Droog (Bruce Grey-Owen Sound), Matthew L.O. Certosimo (Dufferin-Peel-Wellington-Grey) and Scott Allen (Huron-Bruce).

There are nine selection meetings remaining…

» Back to news archive