News Archive

First member of Ontario Citizens’ Assembly selected


The first ever member of a citizens’ assembly in Ontario was selected at a meeting in Toronto on Saturday.

Saying, “I feel as though I’ve won the lottery,” Catherine Baquero of Toronto, from the Beaches-East York riding, was the first randomly selected citizen to join Chair, George Thomson on the historic Citizens’ Assembly on Electoral Reform. The Assembly will consider various electoral systems, consult with fellow citizens and then recommend whether Ontario should retain its current system or adopt a new one.

In total nine Assembly members and 18 alternates were selected in meetings in Toronto and Thunder Bay this weekend. Members selected include: Olivera Bakic (Don Valley East), Catherine Baquero (Beaches-East York), Margo Bath (Durham), Nancy Collins (Oshawa), Julia Ann Craner (Kenora-Rainy River), Taylor Gilbert (Don Valley West), Raj Roopansingh (Pickering-Ajax-Uxbridge), Edward Savelle (Whitby-Ajax), and Ekaterini Traikos (Toronto Danforth).

Twenty-six selection meetings will be held in 17 cities throughout the month of June. Elections Ontario will present its list of 103 Assembly Members and their alternates to Dr. Marie Bountrogianni, Minister of Democratic Renewal on or before July 14, 2006.

» Back to news archive