About the Citizens’ Assembly

A Process Like No Other.

What Was the Citizens’ Assembly?

The Assembly was independent of government. It was made up of 103 randomly-selected citizens – one from each of Ontario's electoral districts. With the Chair, 52 of the members were male and 52 were female. At least one member was Aboriginal.

Together, Assembly members examined Ontario’s electoral system – the system that structures how votes get combined to elect Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs).

The Assembly’s work was led and facilitated by George Thomson, an educator and former judge and deputy minister, who was appointed by the government.

Members of the Assembly were selected at random by Elections Ontario from the Permanent Register of Electors for Ontario. Every registered voter was eligible to participate, with a few exceptions, such as elected officials. 

The selection process began in April 2006 and was completed in June 2006.

What Did the Assembly Do?

Beginning in September 2006, members of the Assembly met about twice a month for eight months.

Together, they examined our current electoral system and learned about other systems. They consulted with the public through meetings and written submissions. Using what they learned and heard, they recommended that Ontario adopt a new electoral system.

That recommendation was outlined in a report submitted to the government on May 15, 2007.

The government will put the question of whether to accept the Assembly's recommendation to voters in a province-wide referendum in October 2007.