How the New System Works

  • Each party nominates its local candidates (as now), as well as a list of candidates for the whole province, in the order that it wants them to be elected. Before the election, parties must submit their lists, and the details of the process they used to create them, to Elections Ontario. Elections Ontario will publish this information widely, so voters will know who is on a list before they vote for a party. Voters will be able to assess whether a party created its list in a fair and transparent way. Voters will also be able to see whether a party’s list has a good balance of men and women, includes candidates from all of Ontario’s regions, and reflects the diversity of Ontario’s population.
  • Voters vote for a local candidate and for a party. The party vote determines the share of seats a party wins in the legislature.
  • If a party doesn’t have enough local members elected to match its share of the party vote, it gets a “top-up” of seats in the legislature. These seats are filled by list members elected by voters across the province through the party side of the ballot. The list seats are used to compensate for lack of proportionality in the election of local members.

    For example, imagine a legislature with 100 seats. If a party receives 25% of the party vote, it is entitled to about 25 seats. If it elects only 20 local members, the top 5 members from its list are elected to bring its total share of seats in the legislature up to 25%. (See page 13 for more details on how this works.)
  • A party must have clear support – at least 3% of the party vote across the province – for candidates from its list to be elected to the legislature.

Key Features of the New System

Greater Voter Choice

  • Voters get two votes on a single ballot – one for a local candidate and a second one for a party. (See page 7 for a sample ballot.)

Fairer Election Results

  • Election results are proportional: The share of seats in the legislature that each party wins is roughly equal to its share of the party vote. For example, if a party receives 25% of the vote, it wins about 25% of the seats in the legislature. In Ontario’s current system, Single Member Plurality (also called “First Past the Post”), a party can win many votes, yet end up having few seats or no seats.

Stronger Representation

  • The new system retains strong local representation through 90 local members. Local members are elected in the same way they are now. The candidate who wins the most votes represents the electoral district.
  • Thirty-nine members (called “list members”) are elected province-wide through the party vote side of the ballot. These members provide all Ontarians with a new kind of representation. For example, list members will complement the work of local members on issues that may affect a region or the whole province.
  • Local members and list members together make up 129 seats in the legislature. By adding a total of 22 seats,1 the new system achieves proportionality and provides more representation for Ontario’s population, which has grown by about 1.4 million since the 1996 Census of Population was taken. At 129 seats, the legislature will be close to the size it was from 1987 to 1999, when it had 130 seats. Ontario will still have fewer representatives for its population than any other province or territory in Canada.

1 The Ontario legislature currently has 103 seats. Beginning with the next election on October 10, 2007, there will be 107 seats. Please visit Elections Ontario’s website for more information on electoral districts: www.electionsontario.on.ca.

Comment fonctionne le nouveau système

  • Chaque parti nomme ses candidats locaux (comme en ce moment), ainsi qu’un groupe de candidats de liste pour toute la province qu’il énumère dans l’ordre d’élection qu’il privilégie. Avant l’élection, les partis sont tenus de déposer leur liste et les renseignements sur la façon dont ils ont procédé pour la dresser auprès d’Élections Ontario. Cet organisme assurera la vaste publication de ces informations, afin que tous les électeurs sachent qui figure sur les listes avant de voter pour un parti ou pour un autre. Les électeurs pourront également voir si les partis ont créé leur liste de façon juste et transparente et si ces listes réalisent un équilibre hommes-femmes, comptent des candidats de toutes les régions de la province et reflètent la diversité de la population ontarienne.
  • Les électrices et les électeurs votent pour un candidat local et pour un parti. Le vote de parti détermine la part des sièges à l’Assemblée législative que remporte chaque parti.
  • Si le nombre de députés locaux élus dans les circonscriptions locales ne correspond pas à la part des voix remportées par le parti, ce dernier se voit attribuer des sièges compensatoires. Ces sièges sont occupés par des députés de liste élus par les électeurs de toute la province au moyen du vote de parti du bulletin de vote. Les sièges de liste servent à compenser le manque de proportionnalité de l’élection des députés locaux.

    Par exemple, imaginez une assemblée législative composée de 100 sièges. Un parti qui reçoit 25 % du vote de parti aurait droit à 25 sièges. Cependant, s’il n’élisait que 20 députés dans les circonscriptions locales, les cinq premiers candidats figurant à sa liste deviendraient députés de façon à faire porter sa part des sièges à l’Assemblée législative à 25 %. (Voir la page 13 pour plus de détails sur la façon dont cela fonctionne.)
  • Il faut qu’un parti bénéficie d’un appui bien clair, c'est-à-dire d’au moins 3 % du vote de parti, pour qu’il puisse faire élire des députés de sa liste à l’Assemblée législative.

Principales caractéristiques du nouveau système

Plus grand choix pour les électeurse

  • Les électeurs disposent de deux votes sur un seul bulletin : un vote pour un candidat local (comme en ce moment) et un second pour un parti. (Voir un exemple de bulletin de vote à la page 7).

Résultats d’élections plus justes

  • Les résultats des élections sont proportionnels. La part des sièges que remporte un parti est à peu près égale à sa part des voix. Par exemple, si un parti remporte 25 % du vote, il se voit attribuer 25 % des sièges à l’Assemblée législative. Selon le système actuel en Ontario, le scrutin majoritaire uninominal, un parti peut obtenir un grand nombre de votes, mais ne remporter que quelques sièges ou pas du tout.

Meilleure représentation

  • Le nouveau système maintient une forte représentation locale en élisant 90 députés de circonscription. La façon d’élire les députés locaux ne change pas : le candidat qui remporte le plus de voix représente la circonscription électorale.
  • Trente-neuf députés (appelés « députés de liste ») sont élus à l’échelle de la province du côté du vote de parti du bulletin. Ces personnes fournissent à toute la population ontarienne une nouvelle forme de représentation. Par exemple, leur travail pourra être un complément à celui dont s’acquittent les députés locaux sur les questions susceptibles d’avoir une incidence sur toute une région ou sur la province entière.
  • Les députés locaux et les députés de liste occupent 129 sièges à l’Assemblée législative. En ajoutant 22 sièges au total1, le nouveau système réalise la proportionnalité et donne une meilleure représentation à la population ontarienne, qui a augmenté d’environ 1,4 million de personnes depuis le Recensement de 1996. Ce nombre se rapproche de celui des années 1987 à 1999, alors que l’Assemblée comptait 130 sièges. Malgré tout, les Ontariens et Ontariennes ont moins de représentants par rapport à leur population que n’en ont les habitants des autres provinces et territoires du Canada.

1 L’Assemblée législative se compose actuellement de 103 sièges. À compter de l’élection du 10 octobre 2007, elle en comptera 107. Veuillez vous rendre au site web d’Élections Ontario pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les circonscriptions électorales : www.electionsontario.on.ca.